Cornell University

The Center for Technology Licensing (CTL) is Cornell University's technology transfer office. We manage technology for Cornell's Ithaca campus, Weill Cornell Medical Colleges, Cornell Tech and the New York State Agricultural Experiment Station in Geneva.

Technology Transfer Advisory Committee (TTAC)

The Cornell University Technology Transfer Advisory Committee (TTAC) provides advice and guidance to the leadership of Cornell administration and to the Center for Technology Licensing (CTL) on all issues related to academic technology transfer. The TTAC provides general oversight on all aspects of CTL's activities to advance Cornell's land grant mission and to fulfill Cornell's objective of making the results of its research available to benefit society regionally, nationally, and globally.

TTAC members may log into the TTAC password-protected web site.

TTAC members are specifically charged with:

1. The review and, when appropriate, the recommendation of updates and revisions of Cornell policies relevant to intellectual property and technology management.

2. The provision of general oversight and advice for all aspects of CCTEC's activities to ensure they are oriented and executed in ways that best advance Cornell's missions as a land grant university, and that best fulfills Cornell's responsibilities as a leading research university to make the results of its research broadly available for public benefit.

3. The development and recommendation of "best practices" in intellectual property and technology management to CCTEC.

4. The provision of advocacy and peer leadership of development of broad support within the University community for all aspects of technology transfer at Cornell.

TTAC Members

Ronald P. Lynch Dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Kathryn Boor


Senior Vice Provost for Research and Vice President for Technology Transfer, Intellectual Property, and Research Policy, Robert Buhrman (Chair)


Stephen and Suzanne Weiss Dean of Weill Cornell Medicine and Cornell University Provost for Medical Affairs, Augustine M.K. Choi


Joseph Silbert Dean of the College of Engineering, Lance Collins


Trustee Emeritus and Overseer, David Fischell


Trustee Emertius and Overseer, Samuel Fleming


Visting Associate Professor Of Clinical Entrepreneurship , Steven Gal


Alumnus, Gregory Galvin


Professor, Steven Gross


Professor, Lorraine Gudas


Chairman of the Board of Trustees and Overseers, Robert Harrison


Vice Provost and Founding Dean of Cornell NYC Tech Campus, Dan Huttenlocher


Provost, Michael Kotlikoff


Executive Director of Center for Technology Licensing at Cornell University (CTL), Alice Li (Secretary)


Trustee Emeritus, Marcus Loo


Professor, Dan Luo


Vice President for University Relations, Joel Malina


Trustee, Pam Marrone


Rebecca Q. and James C. Morgan Dean of the College of Human Ecology, Alan Mathios


Trustee Emeritus, Kevin McGovern


Chief Investment Officer, Kenneth Miranda


Dean of Faculty of Computing and Information Science, Greg Morrisett


Professor, Colin Parrish


Alumnus, Phil Proujansky


Trustee Emertius and Overseer, Philip Reilly


Trustee, Gene Resnick


Harold Tanner Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, Gretchen Ritter


Vice President for Planning and Budget, Paul Streeter


Austin O. Hooey Dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine, Lorin Warnick


University Counsel and Secretary of the Corporation , Madelyn F. Wessel


Past TTAC Members

John Alexander, Trustee Emeritus

Madelyn Antoncic, Overseer

C.C. Chu, Professor

Geoff Coates, Professor

A.J. Edwards, Chief Investment Officer

Andrew Firlik, former Chair of the Technology Transfer Committee of Cornell University Council

Kent Fuchs, former Provost

Laurie Glimcher , Dean of Weill Cornell Medicine and Provost for Medical Affairs

Steven Golding, former Executive Vice President for Administration and Finance

Antonio Gotto, former Provost for Medical Affairs and former Dean of the Weill Cornell Medical College

Ken Gurrola, Alumnus and Former Chairperson of the Cornell Council Technology Transfer Committee

David Hajjar, former Dean of the Graduate School of Medical Sciences

Len Harlan, Overseer

Susan Henry, former Dean of College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Haym Hirsh, Dean of Faculty of Computing and Information Science

Stephen Johnson, Vice President for Government and Community Relations

Harry Katz, Interim Provost

Robert Langer, Trustee

Peter Lepage, Professor and former Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences

Elmira Mangum, former Vice President for Planning and Budget

Rajit Manohar, Professor

Biddy Martin, former Provost

Peter Meinig, former Chairman of the Board of Trustees and Overseers

James Mingle, University Counsel

Chris Ober, former Interim Dean of College of Engineering

Alan Paau, Vice Provost for Technology Commercialization Global Initiatives

John Schimenti, Professor

Robert Seem, Professor

Randi Silver, Professor

James Walsh, former Chief Investment Officer